top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Steel Magnolias

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Hello Everyone!

Steel Magnolias. It is a classic that has developed over the years since its premiere and now it is celebrating its 25th anniversary. Revolving around Truvy's Beauty Parlor in a small parish in modern-day Louisiana, Steel Magnolias is the story of a close-knit circle of friends whose lives come together there. As the picture opens, we find Drum Eatenton shooting birds in the trees of his backyard in preparation for his daughter's wedding reception that afternoon. Shortly thereafter, M'Lynn and Shelby (Drum's wife and daughter) depart for Truvy's to get their hair done for the wedding. "Just the sweetest thing," Annelle Depuy Desoto (who may or may not be married because her marriage may not be legal) is introduced to Truvy's customers as her new "glamour technician." While in the chairs, the sour-tempered Ouiser Boudreaux shows up and entertains the assemblage with her barbs. It seems that the only one of the group who truly understands Ouiser is Clairee who is recently widowed and looking for a diversion. As she says, later in the picture, "If you can't find anything good to say about anybody, come sit by me." Filled with humor and heartbreak, these "Steel Magnolias" make us laugh and cry as the realities of their lives in tiny Chiquapin Parish unfolds.

I got the chance of a lifetime to play the sassy and stubborn Ouiser Boudreaux, one of the best characters that I have had the chance to play to date. And after being in a production of Steel Magnolias, it only makes sense that it would be such a hit. Every character is one that the audience can relate to. On our Friday night show, I had an older women come up to me and say, “You did so well.” After a reply and a thank you, she finished with, “You reminded me of a friend I had in high school. You wouldn’t know her, but you were spot on.” Though the comment was a little weird to me at the time, I started think of it as one of the biggest compliments I got that weekend (other than the compliment that I was the reincarnation of Kathy Bates :) . I was able to not only play Ouiser and stay in character for the full 2 ½ hours, but I reminded this women of someone she knew in high school, making the play so much more important to her. It isn’t just Ousier either. From the sassy Truvy with the biggest heart, who is always there when you need her, to the loving M’Lynn and the warm and loving Shelby, to an extra special personality like Annelle and Clairee, a women how seems to be sassy and the most put together person in the room at all times. There is a character for everyone and everyone is a character.

My love for Steel Magnolias grows, even though I am not in the show anymore. The memories that I made with my fellow cast members will last forever and to me, that is something that will mean the most. Southern accents, frizzy hair, big hats, mismatched socks, overalls and statement necklaces will always remind me of Ousier.

“I could just spit!”

:) Jaime

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2016-A Year in Review

Hello Everyone! Ok. 2016 was not my best reading year. Compared to the 61 books that I read last year, the 35 books that I read this year are nothing. I didn’t even reach my Goodreads goal. Even thoug

Reflecting on the Banned Bookathon

Hello Everyone! A little while ago, Catriona from the Booktube channel LittleBookOwl made a video announcing the Banned Bookathon. The Banned Bookathon is a week long readathon that coincides with the

A Life Update (All Good News I Assure You)

Hello Everyone! So you might have noticed that there was a lag in the reviews here at We Are on the Same Page. There are many reasons for that so I will start from the top. Senior year is difficult. I

bottom of page