top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Reading Slump Week 2: Sorting Grey's Anatomy Characters


What’s Up, Everyone?

Welcome to week two of Jaime not reading anything. (Again, I am still listening to audiobooks but still have yet to pick of a physical book...even though there are eight on my shelf at the moment...moving on!) I am in desperate need of a book that grabs my attention. Currently, what is grabbing my attention is Grey’s Anatomy. I have already watched all of the seasons of Grey’s. However, I have recently lured each of my family members slowly but surely into the black hole that is Grey’s Anatomy. After watching the show all the way through, and now re-watching the show, I found myself thinking about which Hogwarts house each character would be in. I am not about to say that this is an original idea, but this is what I want to write this week, so that’s what I’m doing. Here we go: (also spoilers. Obviously)

The Prime 5:

Meredith Grey-Gryffindor

Meredith stands up for what she believes in. She doesn’t run away from situations that are dangerous, even when everyone around her thinks she is crazy for getting involved. She is incredibly intelligent, which may make her somewhat of a Ravenclaw. However, she often puts people above medicine, and her friends and family above all else. She is somewhat hot tempered and is a passionate person in both romantic and other relationships. She inspires people to follow in her lead and she is a quick thinker.

Christina Yang-Slytherin

I think the obvious choice is to place Christina in Ravenclaw. She is the textbook example of a driven med student and surgeon, holding her craft above almost everything else in her life. She isn’t one to not have an answer and she is inquisital. However, Christina screams Slytherin to me. She is one of the most driven characters on all of Grey’s. Even from the very beginning, she decides to introduce herself to Burke rather than socialize with the other interns at their pre-first day party. She also gives up Owen to Teddy to make her stay. She doesn’t hesitate when it comes to making decisions. She is decisive and active. She is also highly competitive. Although is sounds like a negative trait, Christina is also very cunning. She uses Burke to get a leg up in the field and doesn’t have the same regret that he has about telling the chief what they have done. In the end, even though Christina loves her friends, she chooses opportunity over friendships and takes over for Burke in Switzerland. Also, one of Christina’s shining characteristics is that she doesn’t do emotions unless the situation is dire.

Izzie Stevens-Hufflepuff or Gryffindor

I think that the obvious choice for Izzie is Hufflepuff. She is always being called out for getting too emotional with patients. She is incredibly caring and puts her friends first, even when they have wronged her. She is always baking for people when she doesn’t know how to help them (which, as I have come to discover from the Hufflepuffs in my life, is a very Hufflepuffy thing to do). Also the common room for Hufflepuff is right by the kitchens, so Izzie would have a field day. Izzie is generally optimistic (see the I believe speech from Season 3) and hard working, but not overtly competitive like Meredith or Christina. Still, I would like to argue that Izzie has many Gryffindor traits. She has shown herself to be reckless when it comes to someone she is passionate about (cough cough Denny cough cough). She will fight (literally) for those that she loves. She has a tendency to say the things that come to mind without meaning to. She fought her way through growing up and made the selfless choice to give up her daughter to give them both a chance at a better life. She stood up to Alex for making fun of her modeling career and overcame everyone’s skepticism. She also fought Cancer and got married on a whim (essentially). Therefore, I think that I could see Izzie in either Gryffindor or Hufflepuff.

George O’Malley-Gryffindor or Hufflepuff

Again, I would be happy with George being a Gryffindor or a Hufflepuff. He is definitely at the emotional center of the show, right along side Izzie. He is the guy that everyone leans on and takes for granted sometimes. He doesn’t always have the courage to say what he is feeling, but comes back to fight for what he deserves. He is passionate for his friends and family, but stands up to them when they don’t understand how important his work is. Also, he literally throws himself in front of a bus for a stranger. He is also chivalrous. But again, he is the emotional center of the show. He is loyal to a fault, fair hearted, very hard working and he also doesn’t buy into competition the way the others do.

Alex Karev-A Hot Mess. (I mean Hufflepuff :) )

I feel like Alex is hard to place because he tries hard, especially in the first several seasons, to fit into many houses. While he is trying to get into plastics he becomes a Slytherin. He tries to cut everything else out, just like Mark asks. Still, he goes back to Addison and then to Arizona in Pediatrics. He also tries to be a Ravenclaw while studying for boards and being as competitive as everyone around him. He probably spends the most time being Gryffindor. He fights for Jo and his other friends and family. He feels guilty for his mistakes, but is also audacious and impulsive at some points. He is protective over those he loves and patients that he wants to see succeed. Ultimately, I think he is a Hufflepuff. Everything he does is driven by those he loves and his heart. He cares when he kills his first patient. It haunts him for a very long time and he learns from it. He is concerned for Meredith whenever she is injured and he waits for O’Malley after his father passes away, even though they have had conflicts in the past. He beats himself up for not being on the plane instead of Arizona. He cares for the kids in Peds more than necessary and doesn’t really care what people say. He stays behind from an opportunity of a lifetime, several times, because of the people at Seattle Grace. He is also Meredith’s person when everyone else is gone. He tries to put on a tough guy act, but on the inside, he is really a Hufflepuff. Even Meredith says, “This is the old Alex. Sleeping with random people because he is angry and hurt.”

There are so many other characters that I have yet to sort, so I will probably end up doing this again. Hopefully though, I will start to have some motivation to start reading again. I got to get back to it before all of the end of semester projects are do and they steal all my time away (what little time I have now I mean).

What do you think? Did I get them wrong? Let me know on Twitter @Officalsamepage.

Until next week's shenanigans,

-Jaime


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page