top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Reading Slump and Music Favorites


What’s Up, Everyone?

Long time, no regular blogging schedule. I’m sorry that I have missed my weekly uploads recently. I have been riding the hot mess express recently, which has been a blast. I have also finally hit a reading slump, which I was expecting to happen. After two great reading months in January and February, I haven’t had the same drive to pick up a book this month (even though there are some great ones sitting on my desk right now). I have been listening to several audiobooks, but they have all been pretty “meh”. It also just so happens that I recorded a whole video explaining this, with a snazzy cover of Bitter Content by dodie, only to have the footage corrupt. So now that my shoulders are sufficiently stuck in my ears with stress, I thought I would share some of the songs that I have been loving recently. I like to run or dance to music whenever I am feeling stressed, so I am constantly looking for new jams. Hopefully, some of these will resonate with you too.

No Roots-Alice Merton

Christine over at Polandbannasbooks did a awesome video on her second channel dancing to this song. Now I’m obsessed! I love Alice’s voice. It is very unique and stands out from the cookie cutter sound of music nowadays. I also love the jazzy base and how the melody allows Alice’s voice to shine while also being an awesome dance song. I am definitely going to check out her other stuff. I guarantee this song will get stuck in your head.

Girlfriend-Anderson East

This song popped up on one of my Spotify playlists and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head. I love the keyboard and the trumpet in this song, as they work very well with Anderson’s growlier vocals.

Something About Her-The Kents

There are some songs that sound very Spring/Summer time to me. Maybe that doesn’t make any sense, but the vibe of Something About Her just screams “top down, summer breeze” to me. I also love that the song isn’t crass. It is just a fun pop song to dance to.

The Last Of The Real Ones-Fall Out Boy

I have been a FOB fan since I was in middle school. I thought I was the shiz whenever I listened to it. I loved American Beauty/American Psycho. I don’t think that there was a single song that I didn’t jam to. I don’t love Mania nearly as much. A lot of the song are just not my jam, although I do appreciate that FOB is willing to try a couple of new things. The Last Of The Real Ones is the one song from Mania that I haven’t been able to get out of my head. If you are a runner, I highly recommend putting this one on your playlist.

Once On This Island Revival Cast Album

Rain-

Mama Will Provide-

Of course, I have to have a musical on this list. If you have not listened to this new album, you are missing out. The cast is FANTASTIC. Every song is amazing and the musical is exactly what you need to brighten your day and make you want to visit the Island. These songs don’t sound like stereotypical musical theatre songs. They are dynamic and expertly crafted. Some of my favorites have been Rain and Mama Will Provide. Alex Newell deserves a Tony and a lifetime of amazing casting. If you can get tickets, and are in the New York area, please go and see this show. I will live vicariously through you.

I would love for you all to let me know on Twitter @Officalsamepage some of your favorite songs. I am willing to give almost everything a try. I promise that eventually we will get back to book related content, but we may have some different content until then. Hope you all are good with that.

Until next week!

Jaime

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page