top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Winter Biannual Bibliothon Wrap Up-2018


Y’all. I did it.

I actually completed the Winter Biannual Bibliothon! I wasn’t expecting to get as much reading done as I did. I am still freaking sick with bronchitis, which means there were some days where I didn’t read at all. Still, I feel good about what I did read. Even better, I think the readathon gave me a jump start. I’ve been in such a reading mood since it finished, which is awesome.

Here is a run through of everything I completed during the week.

Day 1 and 2: Finished Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo

I started this book before the readathon, but I read it much slower than I was expecting. The stories were beautiful, and so was the writing. However, some of the stories in the middle weren’t as interesting as I would have liked them to be. I feel like I had to push through to finish Language of Thorns. I ended up giving it a 4 stars out of 5.

Challenge completed: Read a book under 200 pages (I had 185 pages left of LoT when the readathon started, so I only counted those pages towards this challenge and my total.)

Day 3: Finished Lumberjanes Sink or Swim and Lumberjanes A Bird’s Eye View by Shannon Watters and Noelle Stevenson

Day 3 was a Monday, which meant that I had class. This meant that I couldn’t delegate as much time to reading. I still managed to push through two graphic novels during the evening, both of which I gave 4.5 stars out of 5. I lost hope in the Lumberjanes series for a while, since the last couple of volumes weren’t all that great. However, Sink or Swim and A Bird’s Eye View were much better than I was expecting.

Challenge(s) completed: Read a book you’ve never heard of before

Read a sequel

Day 4: Finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Day 4 was the day that I pretty much took off from reading. I ended up just laying in bed and listening to the last chunk of the Order of the Phoenix audiobook. I think I am going to like the last three Harry Potter books better than the rest of the series. I think they are stronger than the first couple, and have a more even amount of action throughout.

Challenge completed: Read a book mentioned in another movie/book/series ect.

Day 5,6 and 7: Finished Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

I was fighting the clock to finish this one. I had to return the physical copy to the library at the beginning of day 7, with 150 pages left. However, in the middle of day 7 I found the audiobook on Youtube. I managed to listen to the rest of the book before the day was over.

Challenge completed: Read a backlist title

Totals:

Challenges completed: 5 out of 7 (More like 6, since I wasn’t planning to read Otherworld)

Pages read: 814

Books completed: 5

In the end, I am proud of what I accomplished. I think this was my second best readathon, next to the BookTubeAThon last summer. I think if I would have been less sick, I could have gotten through Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds (even though, as I am reading it now, it wouldn’t fulfill the mental health challenge in the way I thought it would). Still, I think I made a pretty good dent in my TBR and redeemed myself from the dumpster fire that was the CramAThon. If you participated, let me know how you did by sending me a note on Twitter, @Officalsamepage.

I have a pretty exciting post coming this Friday, so stay tuned for that!

-Jaime

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page