top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Winter Biannual Bibliothon TBR-2018


What is up, Everyone?

I hope that you all are making it through snowmagedon and the beginning of the spring semester, if you are still in school. I started my Abnormal Psychology class a couple of weeks ago and have attended a whopping two classes since the start of the semester. Since I am currently snowed in, and have a little more time on my hands then I know what to do with, I decided to participate in the Winter Biannual Bibliothon. Now, I don’t know how many of your saw my *incredibly* ambitious #CramAThon TBR that I posted at the end of the year. If you did, you will have noticed that I never updated y’all on how that readathon went. Well…

It was a flaming pile of garbage.

I did absolutely none of the reading that I had set out to do. I knew I wasn’t going to get much reading in, but I didn’t expect to fail as hard as I did. Granted, my bestie was in town, which means I don’t feel bad about not reading, considering that means that I spent more time with her. Still, I am hoping to do better during the Winter BiBib than I did during the CramAThon (which is a very low bar but I am trying y’all). Anywho, here are the list of the challenges I am planning to complete from January 20th-26th.

Challenge Number 1: Read the group book: OTHERWORLD by Jason Segel & Kirsten Miller

This one isn’t happening. I was originally going to read Otherworld for the Booksplosion liveshow last month. I even picked it up from the library. However, after reading several reviews that complained of sexist, immature and problematic elements throughout Otherworld, I decided to take a hard pass on picking it up.

Challenge Number 2: Read a sequel

Challenge Number 3: Read a book you’ve never heard of before

Lumberjanes Sink or Swim and Lumberjanes A Bird’s Eye View

When I binge read the Lumberjanes series last summer, I thought that I had read them all. I even tried to read some of the spin off series like Lumberjanes and Gotham Academy. I was surprised when I realized that I hadn’t actually read all of the Lumberjanes graphic novels. I really have no idea what these two are about, except for the fact that they follow the Lumberjanes (obviously). Hopefully, these will help break up my reading throughout the week.

4. Read a book about mental illness

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

I have been hearing amazing things about this book ever since it came out. I know that it is about marginalized groups and gun violence, not so much about mental health. Still, without reading it, I am going to assume that there are some mental health related elements worked into the characters. For instance, I am assuming Will has depression because of the loss of his brother, although it isn’t specified, or the main focus of the novel. I could be wrong, so I will update you all when I am finished reading it. No matter what, I think that I am going to enjoy this one a lot.

5. Read a book that was mentioned in another book/movie/show etc.

Harry Potter (specifically the Order of the Phoenix and Half Blood Prince)

I have been binge listening to the Harry Potter series ever since the fall of last year. I always like to have an audiobook on my list during a readathon to help break things up. I think that these will be the perfect fit.

6. Read a book under 200 pages

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo

I am cheating with this book, because it isn’t under 200 pages. However, I will only be counting the pages that I read during the readathon towards this goal. Since I am about half way through at the moment, that leaves 185 pages to be read during the readathon, which is under 200 pages. My logic totally makes sense.

7. Read a backlist title

Everything I Never Told You Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You has been on my TBR for ages. However, since Little Fires Everywhere has caught fire in the book community recently, I thought that I would read Ng’s older work before jumping into her newer stuff. (Especially since the wait list for Little Fires Everywhere is so long!)

So that’s it! I was going to do the blogging challenges for the Biannual Bibliothon, because they were a lot of fun the last time around. But I am currently sick (what is new?), and so I want all my effort to go toward reading. Let me know what you are reading in the comments on the bottom of the main page. Don’t forget to subscribe for notifications when I post.

Good luck!

-Jaime


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page