top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Most Anticipated Releases of Winter 2018!


The day is here!

Today is the first big release day this year and so many of my favorite books have already hit shelves. I never did my most anticipated releases of 2017, but I feel like there are so many books that I am looking forward to this year that I had to do one for 2018. It will be interesting to look back on these lists and see the good, the bad, the ones that are still sitting on my tbr, and the ones I never ended picking up by the end of the year. I have found that as the months go on I learn about so many more books, so I am breaking my most anticipated lists into seasons to leave room for books I don’t know about yet. That also means that some books may be added to this list by the end of the winter season. However, from all the books I know about right now, here are some of my most anticipated releases! (Note that some dates may change because of advancements or postponements in publication by authors or publishers)

Release date: January 9th, 2018 (Today!)

Thunderhead January 9th 2018

I read Scythe during the summer thanks to my friend Emma. (If you haven’t noticed, I get a lot of recommendations from her, so thanks friend!) I am not a huge fan of death, so I wasn’t sure that I was going to be a fan of Scythe, considering it is centered around death. However, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. There were some slow sections in the middle that could have been cut. Overall, I think it was a solid read and the cliffhanger had me desperately wanting the second book. Hopefully, this one will have a little more action and a little less training/political scenes, but I’ll let you know. I currently have it on hold at my library, so I probably won’t get the chance to read it in January but I hope to get to it ASAP.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33555224-thunderhead?ac=1&from_search=true

Beneath the Sugar Sky January 9th 2018

Y’all know my obsession with the Wayward Children series that started last year. I binge read the first and second books and they both made my favorites list for 2017. I am constantly stunned by how much Seanan McGuire can fit into such a short amount of pages. As you can see, I ended up caving and bought this book rather than waiting to get it from the library. I hope the story is just as beautiful as its cover.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27366528-beneath-the-sugar-sky?ac=1&from_search=true

Nice Try, Jane Sinner January 9th 2018

I am very intrigued by Nice Try, Jane Sinner. I feel like it could either be amazing or disappointing. The story seems to cover a lot of topics including religion, mental health, college life, growing up, and failure. I am a little worried about how many topics Nice Try, Jane Sinner is trying to cover, but I am excited to see how they are all woven into the story. Also, I don’t often see stories featuring students who choose to go to community colleges. As someone who is currently about to transfer out of her community college, I am interested to see how community colleges are portrayed in this book, as they usually get a bad wrap (which doesn’t really make much sense because they are incredibly cost effective but whatever). I am not sure how I am going to read this one because my library isn’t planning to purchase it, but I’ll keep my eyes peeled in case it pops up.

The Immortalists January 9th 2018

Psych! Bet you didn’t expect a adult fiction novel to pop up on this list. I am trying to branch out and read some literary fiction and adult fiction this year. I am not saying that I don’t love YA, because I am still planning to read mostly YA. However, there are some awesome literary fiction novels that were published in 2017 and are going to be published in 2018 that I want to try reading. This is the first one that caught my eye because it has to do with death, psychics, adolescents and prophecies. I plan on picking this one up from my library very soon.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30288282-the-immortalists?ac=1&from_search=true

Release date: February 6th 2018

By a Charm and a Curse

I was given an ARC of By a Charm and a Curse via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I am really excited about it! It sounds like the Night Circus in Le Grand and with a little bit of romance, which sounds right up my alley. I haven’t heard anyone talking about it, so I don’t know how other people are liking it, but I have high hopes. Look out for a full review coming in the beginning of February.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34921588-by-a-charm-and-a-curse?ac=1&from_search=true

Release date: February 27th 2018

Tess of the Road

Some of you may know Rachel Hartman from her Seraphina series. I never read the series, but I don’t think it is required, even though these two books are connected. Again, I was given an ARC of Tess of the Road via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I haven’t been seeing great things about it, but I am still optimistic. Also, the cover is stunning. Expect a review from me coming at the end of February/beginning of March.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33123849-tess-of-the-road?ac=1&from_search=true

And that’s all! Let me know in the comments section at the bottom of my main page what your most anticipated releases of the winter are. Are there any I’m missing? Ones I should add? Let me know!

-Jaime

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page