top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Thanksgiving Book Tag


Happy Holidays, Y'all!

I hope that you all had a fabulous Thanksgiving (if you are from the states). I spent most of my Thanksgiving break studying for finals, but I did get to spend Thanksgiving day with my sister and her fiance’s family. They had a bunch of family over and it was a blast! In honor of the spirit of Thanksgiving, I thought, this week, we would do something Thanksgiving related. So here is the Thanksgiving Book Tag!

Bread: What book is purely fluff, and has no real plot line?

Any of the Pretty Little Liars books by Sara Shepard. Good gravy, those things are just fluff. Which is great because what little plot they do have is all over the place. One day the girls are successfully conquering A, then they throw someone off the roof, but *psych* she isn’t dead and now they are back for revenge. Then boom, someone is sleeping with someone’s ex and has a kid. (If this seems ridiculous, it is because it is, but it is also part of an actual storyline from this series.)

Turkey: What book made you want to fall asleep?

The Future of Us by Jay Asher. I read this book right after I read 13 Reasons Why in my sophomore year of high school. I really enjoyed the plot of 13 Reasons Why, and so I was hoping for great things when I got my hands on another Jay Asher novel. I don’t know if it is because The Future of Us was co-written or what the problem was. Whatever it was, I remember skipping pages and pages in this book, trying to find something interesting. I think it just made me mad.

Gravy: What book makes the whole series worth reading?

Winter by Marissa Meyer. Winter is one of the most amazing conclusions to a book series that I have ever read. All the other books are amazing, which makes the series as a whole totally worth reading. However, Winter was on a whole other level of awesome.

Dressing: What book is stuffed full of drama scenes?

No Exit by Sartre or Hamlet by Shakespeare. No Exit isn’t broken up into scenes, so it is basically one long drama scene. Which makes sense, considering the play takes place in hell. Hamlet is also one long Shakespearean drama. While I could have chosen just about any Shakespearean play, the level of drama that takes place in Hamlet is next level.

Mashed Potatoes: What book looked good, and then it wasn’t.

All Rights Reserved by G. S. Katsoulis or Little and Lion by Brandy Colbert. Both of these had so much potential and their synopses had me thinking that they were going to be five star reads. They weren’t.

Cranberries: What book has the sweetest romance?

(This is such a 90s kid answer but) Princess Diaries. I thought that Michael and Mia’s relationship was adorable.

Corn: What’s the corniest book you’ve ever read?

I had a really hard time picking one for this. I haven’t read it in a while, so I can’t really attest to its corny nature, but I remember Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins being pretty cheesy.

Green beans: What book is too long and needs to be shortened?

The Host by Stephanie Meyer. Even though I liked this story a lot better than the Twilight saga, it still could have been shortened in certain places.

Sweet Potato Pie: What book did you read to get you out of a reading slump?

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson. I have re-read this book twice. Each time it has been when I just wanted something light and fluffy to get me back into reading. Trust me, it works every time.

That's all folks! Let me know what other tags or bookish content you would like to see from me next. The next two weeks are going to be pretty crazy with finals, but I will try my best to upload regularly.

-Jaime

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page