top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Intimidating TBR Tag


Hello, Hooligans!

The end of the year is quickly approaching. Even though I have already accomplished my Goodreads goal, and read more books than I did last year, I have so many left on my TBR. According to Goodreads, my 312 books on my TBR. (I know this is a lot of books my total read books is 397, so at least I have read more books than are on my TBR) So, because of my awareness of the weaning amount of time I have to read all the books I want to before the end of the year, and because of my massive TBR, I thought I would do the Intimidating TBR Tag. I tried to find the original creator of this tag, but I couldn’t find them. If you know who they are, or you are them, please tweet me @Officalsamepage and let me know! Let’s get on with the tag.

1. What book have you been unable to finish?

I got a copy of Invictus by Ryan Graudin from the library when it came out this fall. It had a pretty big waitlist and a couple of days before it came due, I started it. I got (maybe) 30 pages into it. I liked the idea and the writing was great, but for some reason, I haven’t wanted to pick it up again. I might start it all the way over when I am in a different mood. It has a 3.99 on Goodreads though, which isn’t bad. We’ll see…

2. What book have you yet to read because you just haven't had the time?

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor! It has been sitting on my table for weeks and I have renewed it from the library a bunch of times. It has fantastic reviews and I am really excited about it (especially because I don’t really know much about it). Also, the cover is BEAUTIFUL.

3. What book have you yet to read because it's a sequel?

Wayfarer and Through the Dark by Alexandra Bracken. I wasn’t in the mood to read Wayfarer after reading Passenger, so now I have to re-read it before I can finish it. I also have to re-read the Darkest Minds series so that I can read Through the Dark intermittently between the corresponding books.

4. What book have you yet to read because it's brand new?

There are so many of these that I can’t even choose one. Probably the Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell. Again, this book sounds amazing, but I have no time!

5. What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn't enjoy it?

Renegades by Marissa Meyer. Marissa Meyer is one of my favorite authors, with the Lunar Chronicles being my favorite series of hers. However, I didn’t enjoy Heartless very much (I DNF’ed it). Now I am not sure that I will ever pick up Renegades.

6. What book have you yet to read because you're just not in the mood for it?

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. I picked this book up over the summer because I had heard great things about it and I just wasn’t in the mood to read it. It is still on my TBR though, and I will get around to reading it at some point.

7. What book have you yet to read because it's humongous? The Lies of Locke Lemora by Scott Lynch. It is your standard 500 page book, but it just seems so long. Maybe because I got a mass market paperback of it, so it just looks intimidating. Also, a couple of the Harry Potter books are massive. I haven’t put them off because of their size, but they are really intimidating.

8. What book have you yet to read because because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews? A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. It doesn’t necessarily have poor reviews, but some people really didn’t like it. Other people said it was just sort of meh. Which, currently, I think I have discovered that meh books are even worse than books that are actually bad.

9. What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile? I have recently become interested in reading more adult fiction. Some of the ones on my TBR are The Mothers by Brit Bennett, Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng and The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. I would say, since I haven’t really read adult literature, that these would be my most intimidating reads.

And that’s a wrap! Let me know some of your most intimidating books in the comments below. Stay tuned next week for the Thanksgiving Book Tag.

-Jaime

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page