top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

October Reading Wrap Up-2017


What’s Up, Everyone?

Recently I have been filming my wrap ups and library hauls. However, I have been really sick recently. That is why my posts have been a little sporadic over the past couple of months. Since I am embracing my current ride on the hot mess express, this month’s wrap up and library haul are going to have to be in blog form. I feel like October was just as much a mess reading wise as I was, so this may be for the better.

I ended up only reading two books in October. However, I made a lot of trips to the library for all the new releases that were coming out this month. “Why then, Jaime, did you only read two books?” Well, observant reader, that is because midterms kicked my tail. You see, I am one of those, “bite off more than you can chew” sort of people. Because of this, I believed in my heart that I could continue to read a ton of books in October. Midterms had a different plan for me. At my school, midterms can happen basically whenever. They don’t really even have to happen in October. They just have to finish before we go on break in November. Even that isn’t really a rule. I guess the only rule for midterms is that you have to have them done by finals. There is no midterms week where you take all of your tests. Some teachers don’t even give midterms. Instead, they give group projects (which everyone loves *eye roll*) or papers. Where finals are like cutting of an appendage in one, swift motion, midterms are like trying to cut your own appendage off with a butter knife. That’s an over dramatic representation, but if you are in college, you know what I mean.

It was in the middle of midterm horrors that John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down, came out. I have been cautious about buying books before I read them, especially recently. But I decided to cave (mostly prompted by the promise of a signed copy) and buy Turtles for myself. As someone who has OCD, I was interested to read an own voices novel, that just happened to be written by one of my autobuy authors, and see what the representation was like. While Turtles is noticeably more introspective than Green’s previous novels, it has the same charm that the rest of his novels do. This time around, that charm is accompanied by a heart breaking story of a destructive mental illness that only tightens its grip when you try and fight against it. There were several parts of this story that reminded me of Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson (only arguably better executed). In the same way that Wintergirls made me feel uncomfortable, Turtles makes its reader feel both uncomfortable and also realized. Although, Aza’s story may not be everyone’s story, but I think that’s ok. I felt that it portrayed OCD honestly and without sugar coating, which is commendable. Besides the general predictability, secondary plot, sections of suspension of disbelief and the time jumpy bits at the end, I think Turtles All the Way Down was a stellar read. I ended up giving it a four out of five stars.

After reading Turtles All the Way Down, I listened to the audiobook of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I do have all of the original, Scholastic first editions (which are some of my prized possessions). I have flung myself into the Harry Potter fandom for years and I have watched all the movies. I knew the stories, but I had never read the books. I know. I know. But whenever I was in between other audiobooks, and needed something to listen to, I would always listen to the first chapters of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. It was comforting. However, I would always find another audiobook that I needed to return in 14 days, and move on from Harry Potter. This time around, that didn’t happen. I kept listening after the first chapter. Then I finished the book.

I really enjoyed Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. There was one line that Fred or George says that rubbed me the wrong way. He says something along the lines of, “Oh, be quiet woman,” To Mrs. Weasley. Something about that particular line didn’t sit right with me. Other than that, it was nice seeing everything that was cut from the film that I had been missing for years. The first book is also much shorter than I thought it would be, which made it a super quick read.

Hopefully, I will be able to get through more books in November. I am already half way through Chamber of Secrets and Dear Martin by Nic Stone (which is amazing so far and was one of my most anticipated releases of the fall). Fingers crossed that I can power through more books than usual during my breaks this month.

How was your reading month? Did you also have midterms that kicked your tail? Do you have any books that you recommend that I pick up while I’m on break? Let me know in the comments!

Until later,

Jaime

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page