top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Day 3/4 Update-Read-A-Thon Week

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


How's it going, Everyone?

I hope that you all are having much more productive reading weeks than I am. I wanted to update you on my progress and let you know what the plan is going to be for the rest of the week. Do you remember a couple of days ago when I said that I was going to do all of the blogging challenges for the Summer Bibib? Yep. That isn't going to happen. I wish I could do them all, and I think that it was a reasonably achievable goal to set for myself at the beginning of the week. However, I would have had to write them all on Monday and Tuesday of this week and schedule them to post while I was in the mountains (which I am leaving soon so I have to write quickly). Unfortunately, that just didn't end up happening. However, I did successfully do three of them, and I will probably do a couple of them even after the Summer Bibib is over (just because some of the ideas are really nifty and interesting). For that little success, I will pat myself of the back.

I am also not going to end up reading seven books in seven days. Now, I pretty much knew that this wasn't going to happen. I am a rather slow reader, and my TBR was very ambitious, so I didn't exactly expect to get through all of the books that I had put on it. However, I am probably only going to get through half of my TBR. I got really sick during the first two days of Booktubeathon and as much as I could have used that time to read, it just didn't happen. I am not really one for beating myself over the head for not reading. The way I see it, I will read as much as I can read in these last couple of days and that will be a successful Booktubeathon in my book. I just got the second through fourth volumes of Lumberjanes from the library, so I will definitely be reading those. I will also be starting The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas on my four hour car ride to the mountains today. I don't know how much reading I will get done while I am in the mountains, because we have a lot of cool and exciting adventures planned, but there has to be some downtime at some point where I can get some reading done. Along with Lumberjanes, I am also bringing along The Storied Life of A.J Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin, Scythe by Neal Shusterman and We Are Okay by Nina LaCour (although I am not super in the mood to read this one at the moment). I don't think that I will get through all of these books, but at least they will be at my disposal.

I really do have to go and finish packing so I am going to wrap this up. The take away? Booktubeathon and readathons are what you make them. If you feel like you are accomplishing something, than that is what matters. Have fun with it. Don't take it too seriously. After doing several readathons I can say that there are going to be things that are always going to get in the way of you reading, so don't beat yourself up about not meeting your goals because you went outside or had coffee with a friend. At it's core, Booktubeathon and the Summer Bibib are all about getting people excited for reading. As long as that is what these readathons are doing for you, that is all that matters.

I won't have internet in the mountains, so I will update you all about my reading progress when I come back. Hopefully, I will have gotten through one of the novels and the Lumberjanes volumes. Until then, I wish you all happy reading. You can do it!

-Jaime


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2016-A Year in Review

Hello Everyone! Ok. 2016 was not my best reading year. Compared to the 61 books that I read last year, the 35 books that I read this year are nothing. I didn’t even reach my Goodreads goal. Even thoug

Reflecting on the Banned Bookathon

Hello Everyone! A little while ago, Catriona from the Booktube channel LittleBookOwl made a video announcing the Banned Bookathon. The Banned Bookathon is a week long readathon that coincides with the

bottom of page