top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Welcome to Booktube Read-A-Thon Week 2017!


What is up, Everyone?

Welcome to Readathon week!! When I put up my video for the Booktubeathon, I wasn’t aware that the Summer Biannual Bibliothon was also happening this week as well. Unintentionally, I put their group book (Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh) on my TBR for the Booktubeathon. What a coincidence? This year the girls over at the BiBib are doing a really cool thing where they are having blogging challenges everyday to go along with the rest of the challenges that they have going on. I am still participating in the Booktubeathon, and I’m not changing around my TBR, but I have decided to try and participate in the Summer Bibib’s blogging challenges. They all seem super fun and I think it will give me the opportunity to connect with a lot of other bloggers. Plus, I always feel bad when I want to participate in the challenges for readathons, but neither video editing or Instagram are really my strongest suit. Additionally, right after I decided to do the Booktubeathon, I got an invite to go to the mountains with some family and friends. My mental health hasn’t been stellar recently, so this trip is desperately needed, but going on it also means that I am not going to be around WIFI or filming equipment to execute video challenges after Wednesday of this week. So, I decided to try my hand at the blog challenges.

The day one book blogger host is Nana from @4teenliars on Instagram. Her challenge was the Book Blogger Tag. I hope you all enjoy my answers for the tag and have had/continue to have a productive reading day today.

Question 1

What are you planning to read for the Summer Biannual Bibliothon?

My TBR is going to be the same as it was before for the Booktubeathon. If you want to see what I choose to read, you can check out my TBR video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79fFsL3if0Y&t=67s). Honestly, I am probably going to end up mixing up my TBR as the week goes on. I tend to do that. I also just placed a ton of books on hold at the library because I want to read a bunch while I’m in the mountains, and I am super tempted to start those right when I get them. We will see how the week progresses.

Question 2

What is your favorite genre to read in the Summer?

Usually Contemporary or Realistic Fiction. I tend to burn myself out on Contemporaries during the summer, which sets me up to read a bunch of Syfi, Fantasy and Historical Fiction in the fall.

Question 3

Where is your favorite place to read in the Summer?

Any place where I am on vacation. I went to the beach earlier in the summer and sat on a rocking chair on our porch reading with the wind blowing through and the sun hitting my back. It was awesome (but I also got very sun burned hehe). I am also looking forward to reading in the mountains before bed. I also love reading any place with air conditioning because it is hotter than Hades where I live.

Question 4

What is your favorite challenge done in the Summer Biannual Bibliothon?

Anything to do with art or cosplay.

Question 5

What fiction character would you hang out with in the summer in you could?

I just finished reading The Penderwicks at Point Mouette and I love all of their summertime adventures, so them. But if I wanted some serious drama, the families from We Were Liars (probably before the events of the book, for spoliery reasons).

Question 6

What are your plans for summer?

Spend the most amount of time with friends before they go back to their respective colleges and continue working on mental health.

Question 7

Do you have a summer reading playlist? If not, what would be on it?

I can’t listen to music and read, so I don’t have a summer playlist devoted to music I listen to while reading. However, I do have a playlist on Spotify called Favorite Hipster. Some songs on it include Chocolate by The 1975, Dreaming by Smallpools, Machine by MisterWives, Lisztomania by Pheonix and and Run Run Run by Celeste Buckingham.

Question 8

What is your favorite summer movie?

I don’t really have one that I classify as my favorite summer movie. However, Perks of Being a Wallflower, Lala Land, Freaky Friday and the Parent Trap are coming to mind.

Question 9

What book do you read every summer? If not, what thing do you do every summer?

Late night swimming. Roasting marshmallows. Pelicans snowcones and Goodberries. Game nights with friends and spontaneous sleepovers. Visiting my grandmother in Pennsylvania (another place where I love to read).

Question 10

What other book tags are you planning to do this summer?

I would love to do the Playlist Book Tag, but I have to get better at editing videos first. I would also love to do the Book Sacrifice Tag and the Musical Theatre book tag (Also the Hamilton and Dear Evan Hansen book tags).

That is it! I hope that you enjoyed it. I am hoping to be able to do every one of the blog challenges, but I don’t know how many I will be able to do. We will see. I’ll give it my best shot.

As always, love ya’ll. Glad we’ve been on the same page.

-Jaime

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page