top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Happy New Year! 2015 Reading Wrap-Up and 2016 Resolutions

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Happy New Year!

I hope that your New Years was fabulous and that your reading year was as successful as mine. After some calculating and review, here are the stats for my 2015 reading year.

60 Books Total

20,617 pages total

Longest Book Read-Winter by Marissa Meyer

Average Star Rating-4.0

Books Rated 5 Stars: 25

Books Rated 4 Stars: 16

Books Rated 3 Stars: 11

Books Rated 2 Stars: 5

Books Rated 1 Star: 3

I read 11 books for school and assigned reading. I read 8 ARCs from various Publishers. I read 5 books for my school’s book club.

I would say that I am really impressed by how many books I got the chance to read this year. I was shooting to read 35 books other than school books, which I succeeded in doing. I also wanted to read at least 5,000 pages from my TBR/Physical bookshelf and 10,000 pages from my Goodreads TBR, both challenges I finished successfully.

So, now to set some reading goals for 2016.

I want to continue the challenge of reading at least 5,000 pages from my TBR/Physical bookshelf and 10,000 pages from books currently on my TBR.

I want to review at least 10 ARCS from various publishers.

I want to read more plays or theatre scripts. For the amount that I enjoy theatre, I don’t find myself often reaching for scripts of plays or works that I am not currently in or that I don’t have to read for school. However, I find that when I do pick up a play or script to read, I find that I really enjoy it. Therefore, I would like to read more plays and theatre scripts, mostly more contemporary plays (published in the last 30 or 40 years).

Finally, I would like to read at least 50 books this year. My goal has never been this high and, especially considering that I will be starting my Freshman year of college this year, this goal might end up being a stretch. I can always lower it if I need to but I thought that, since I was ten books over 50 books this year, that I would take a stab at the 50 book challenge.

That is it! Those are all of my goals for 2016, reading wise. One of the goals that I have for this blog is to post more frequently and push myself to review more of the books that I read. I would also like to make more of my reviews non-spoliery, though I find it hard to do, especially with books that I really enjoy. I know that Thoughts on Tomes had a system where she creates one spoiler free review and then a separate gush review. I like this system, however, I am not particularly sure how it would translate from medium to medium.

I hope that you are still motivated by your New Year's Resolutions! Let me know on Twitter some of the New Year’s Resolutions you are planning to accomplish this year.

-Jaime

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 3/4 Update-Read-A-Thon Week

How's it going, Everyone? I hope that you all are having much more productive reading weeks than I am. I wanted to update you on my progress and let you know what the plan is going to be for the rest

2016-A Year in Review

Hello Everyone! Ok. 2016 was not my best reading year. Compared to the 61 books that I read last year, the 35 books that I read this year are nothing. I didn’t even reach my Goodreads goal. Even thoug

bottom of page