top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kate McGovern

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Hello Everyone! Thank you to Macmillian Children’s Publishing Group and Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. Overview (Non-Spoilery Section) This was an impressive debut novel that reveals the very real life of someone living with the gene of a degenerative and rare disease. I had never heard of Huntington’s disease before and praise McGovern for the indepth research she did for the novel. I also applaud her for incorporating a very diverse cast of characters into her writing. From Rose’s best friend being Asian to Rose having a African American love interest, none of the characters felt type cast or grounded in stereotypes, which I greatly appreciated. With enough time to spend developing each person as an individual, McGovern crafts a poignant novel about disease that is also laced with a laugh-out-loud humor. Aside from some petty teenage angst and some scenes that felt a little long, this novel is a solid start to McGovern’s career. ***Spoilers*** I really enjoyed this book, almost more than I expected, considering I wasn’t really in the mood for a heart wrenching tale about the possibility of death. Surprisingly, however, McGovern managed to discuss topics that are serious-race, disability, mental health, ambition, ect.- without leaving the reader feeling weighted by the end of the novel. Sometimes her characters had frank conversations that would make most people feel uncomfortable but were very insightful and honest in correcting misconceptions, pointing out misassumptions or educating Rose or the audience about the realities of taking take of your parent from a young age. Although their romance begun very early in the book, and almost felt instalovey at times, I can relate to the connection you feel with someone who can understand you at a very deep level, for Rose and Caleb that was connecting over a rare genetic mutation. My favorite characters were probably Caleb or Lena. I love how sassy and real Lena is with Rose, as many of my friendships are with my girlfriends. I also really love Caleb because he isn’t afraid to say what he is thinking, even if it is a sensitive subject or a social no-no. Neither of these characters were afraid to call Rose out when she stepped over a line. Rose did have the tenacity throughout the book to make assumptions without much knowledge or understanding behind them. She also wasn’t one to listen to sound medical advice. I was sort of frustrated at how much she pushed getting tested throughout the book and then chooses not to know the results. I understood what the point of this move was but it was still a little frustrating. Let me know what you think. Is Rose positive for Huntington’s? Overall, if you are looking for a quick read with a lot of diversity, this book is for you. I would also recommend this book to anyone wanting to know a little bit more about Huntington’s or is interested in genetic disorders in general. Kate McGovern’s passion for writing is palpable, and I can’t wait to see what she comes out with next. Overall: 4 stars out of 5 90% out of 100% -Jaime

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scythe by Neal Shusterman-Spoiler Free Review

What’s Up, Everyone? How are you all doing post Readathon week? I know a lot of people can get into reading slumps or experience reading burn out after readathons, but I hope that none of you are expe

The Blazing Star: Less Than Blazing

Thanks to Netgalley and to Wise Ink Creative Publishing for giving me an ARC of this book. Hello Everyone! Finals are finally over! Yay! I am so excited that I am on Christmas break and can spend time

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child-Spoiler Free Review

Hello Everyone! “Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is

bottom of page