top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child-Spoiler Free Review

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Hello Everyone!

“Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

Scripts are a tricky thing. I have read scripts that have been subpar and then performed in shows where the outcome is spectacular. I have also read scripts that have been spectacular and the outcome has been less than stellar. So dry reading a script without seeing the show is not an accurate representation of the work. But it is a start and for those who are not able to see the show, it is the closest that we have to experiencing the newest part of the Harry Potter story. So..

It doesn’t feel like the books because it is not the books and it has problems because it does have problems. But everything has problems and, frankly, this is the first time something that we love has gone from book form to script and that addition has been published as canon to be included in the series. So we don’t really have much to compare it to. However, I will say that I had fun reading this part of Harry Potter’s story, now Albus Potter’s story. I laughed, I cried a little and I had genuine fun. There are still some plot holes, or plot points that don’t really match up to the original series. Specifically when it comes to the events of the night Voldemort killed Harry’s parents. There were also several times in the script, specifically when it came to the characters of Professor McGonagall, Harry Potter himself and Ron Weasley. Their arguments and interactions often didn’t reflect the Harry, McGonagall and Ron that we knew for seven books or the Harry, Ron and Professor that we were guessing and fantasizing about after the books ended. All of the problems can’t hide how much I enjoyed the script. From the new characters, Albus, Scorpius and Rose who are new and refreshing while also reflecting our favorite parts of their parents, to the nostalgia that this new addition to the Harry Potter universe gives us. I think that the production is going to be amazing, and even more fun the script itself. For that, I thank JK and all of the others that are making Harry Potter new for a new generation and giving us a chance to relive our favorite parts of our childhood.

Overall:

I gave the script a 4 out of 5 stars but I would give it a 5 out of 5 stars for enjoyment.

89% out of 100%

I would love to hear what you think in the comments below. Please be pleasant.

-Jaime

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scythe by Neal Shusterman-Spoiler Free Review

What’s Up, Everyone? How are you all doing post Readathon week? I know a lot of people can get into reading slumps or experience reading burn out after readathons, but I hope that none of you are expe

The Blazing Star: Less Than Blazing

Thanks to Netgalley and to Wise Ink Creative Publishing for giving me an ARC of this book. Hello Everyone! Finals are finally over! Yay! I am so excited that I am on Christmas break and can spend time

bottom of page