top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot : Another Fun Addition to Mia’s Life

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Hey Everyone!

I am finally catching up on ARCS, so there will be more ARC reviews posted over Thanksgiving. For now, here is a review for a fun read that I picked up recently.

Overview (Non-Spoliery Section)

I have always loved the Princess Diaries. The idea that Mia could grow up with me was super cool. I think, however, that this book suffered from trying to do too much in one book. One of the best things about the other books in Cabot’s series is that they framed sections of Mia’s life. Not a lot happened but a large part of her life was covered during the duration of the series. I feel like there was just way too much that happened in this book. I also don’t think that everything was necessary. Read more below about the specifics, but I could have been happy if some of the things that happened in this book didn’t occur. However, it was fun and light hearted. I very much enjoyed seeing where Overall, it was a lovely icing-on-the-cake addition to the Princess Diaries. I recommend to anyone who is a fan of the series and is looking for a quick read.

****Spoliers****

I had fun with this book. I hadn’t picked up a Princess Diaries book in a while, so it was about time that I picked one up. I loved all of the pop culture references in the book. I kept thinking about how, when I have kids and they read this book, these references will date the work as a whole. So weird to think about. A time when Orange is the New Black won’t be relevant (the horror 0.0).

The characters didn’t feel like they had changed. Mia, Lily, Michael and Tina all sounded the same, which was nice. Somehow, Cabot has been able to develop Mia from a teenager to a 26 year old and keep Mia, Mia.

I did have some problems with the plot however. I don’t think that Mia needed Olivia. I don’t think that it was a bad choice, especially because “From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess” is based solely on Olivia. I just think that I could live with Mia staying a single child. However, in some way, I really did like how protective and older-sister like Mia was when interacting with Olivia.

I also was unsure of how I liked the idea of Mia’s parents getting back together. I think that they were apart for so long, and Mr. G was such a perfect fit for Mia’s mom, that the idea of them coming back together and becoming parents of Olivia just doesn’t fit into the story somehow.

Additionally, I didn’t really feel the threat of Mia trying to figure out what to do about the crown. There was such a greater focus on Mia and Michael and the marriage rather than the threat of losing the crown.

Other than these small things, I loved Michael and Mia finally getting married and all the shenanigans that came alone with it. I loved how Grandmere is still as crazy as usual, and how she spilled the royal beans to the press. I also loved how realistic the idea of a crazy Rebel Rouser persona was. With the media running wild and paparazzi pestering her, Mia’s worst nightmare was an extreme hater that might endanger a member of her family or one of her friends.

Overall, it was a super fun read and a light hearted addition to the Princess Diaries series.

4 out of 5 stars

90% out of 100%

-Jaime

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scythe by Neal Shusterman-Spoiler Free Review

What’s Up, Everyone? How are you all doing post Readathon week? I know a lot of people can get into reading slumps or experience reading burn out after readathons, but I hope that none of you are expe

The Blazing Star: Less Than Blazing

Thanks to Netgalley and to Wise Ink Creative Publishing for giving me an ARC of this book. Hello Everyone! Finals are finally over! Yay! I am so excited that I am on Christmas break and can spend time

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child-Spoiler Free Review

Hello Everyone! “Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is

bottom of page