top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: an Enchanting Tale

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Hello Everyone!

The Night Circus is one of those books that has been sitting on my TBR shelf for way too long and I am now incredibly distressed that I didn’t pick up earlier. The cover, the concept and the blurb all sucked me in and the story grabbed my soul on its way. From the absolutely eloquent writing of Erin Morgenstern, to the extravagant cast of characters and the omniscient narrator that gave me the wonderful feeling that I got when I fell in love with Station Eleven not too long ago. The tone of the mysterious and wondrous world that the audience is swept into upon reading this book is sure to keep them intrigued and coming back for more.

***Spoilers****

So I want to give this book all of the stars. It has become one of my favorite books of all time, if not only for this year. I loved the format. I have found myself really enjoying book that are divided into sections. I don’t know why this is but so far I haven’t hated one book in this format. I also really loved the narrator and how all the stories blended together in the end. I liked being able to see the circus come together around the challenge and have more revealed to me the more that I read. I listened to this book on audiobook, which I think had a part to play in it too because the narrator was also fabulous for the tone of the book. I loved all of the characters! I loved how you got to see Poppet and Widget grow up and how they met Bailey, creating a trio that would later run the circus. I loved Celia and Marco and their love story and tension. The struggle they endured to be with each other is intense and painful but they find a way in the end. I like Tsukiko how she was an example of what the challenge could do to someone, as well as how they live after it is all over. Isobel, Madame Padva, Ethan even Chandresh and Prospero had their quirks and moments. I really love the way that Erin Morgenstern designed the flow of the novel. She realized that, if done in chronological order, that the subplot of Bailey wouldn’t show up for a very very long time and so she interspersed him throughout. In a surprising turn of events, I haven’t the exact words to express all of the things that I adore about this book. It just wrapped me into the circus and didn’t let me go. If you don’t work at this book a little, then some of the events can get a little lost on you but it isn’t too difficult to figure out what is happening. I am so glad that this is going to get turned into a movie and can’t wait to see it come to life on the big screen.

Overall:

5 out of 5 stars

99% out of 100%

-Jaime

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scythe by Neal Shusterman-Spoiler Free Review

What’s Up, Everyone? How are you all doing post Readathon week? I know a lot of people can get into reading slumps or experience reading burn out after readathons, but I hope that none of you are expe

The Blazing Star: Less Than Blazing

Thanks to Netgalley and to Wise Ink Creative Publishing for giving me an ARC of this book. Hello Everyone! Finals are finally over! Yay! I am so excited that I am on Christmas break and can spend time

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child-Spoiler Free Review

Hello Everyone! “Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is

bottom of page