top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Unwind-a Dystopian That Will Play With your Heart and Mind

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Hello Everyone!

Notes: Sequoyah Book Award (2010), Evergreen Teen Book Award (2010), Sakura Medal for Middle School Book (2009), Florida Teens Read Nominee (2009), Gouden Lijst Nominee (2013) Green Mountain Book Award (2010)

Overview (Non-Spoilery Section)

I had heard about this novel for a while, and it was definitely on my radar but a buddy read pushed this book to top priority. I am kicking myself for not having read this earlier. Neal Shusterman’s writing style was a little bit interesting, and took sometime to get used to. This book is told in a 3rd person (truly) omniscient perspective, ie 3rd person present omniscient. I really wasn’t sold in the beginning but I became more intrigued when this perspective was used to go outside of our main characters, Connor, Risa and Lev, and traveled to others in the Unwind society. I also really enjoyed how the story was scarily believable. A war breaking out, the Hartland War, between pro-life and pro-choice people that was “resolved” by a Bill of Life, stating that a women has to carry the child full term and between the ages of 13 and 18 can sent them to be unwound (have all of their body parts used, like an extreme donor program). However, no one is really happy with the outcome of the war (my friend compared it to the Civil War or the Compromise of 1850). I could totally see this happening, as well as the storking program (Harry Potter style drop and run or an intense game of ding-dong ditch only with children. If you find a baby on your doorstep you have to keep it but if you catch the mother in the act, she has to keep it). The concept really makes the audience think about the ethical and emotional repercussions of the program. I was really intrigued that Unwind was written as a stand alone and then there were 3 books and a novella added to the universe. Highly recommend reading this for fans of a fast paced dystopian, with pleasingly short chapters and awesome main characters.

***Spoilers***

I think I could write on this book for ages. There is so much to talk about!

The Main Characters

I really enjoyed Risa. She reminded me a lot of Ruby from the Darkest Mind trilogy (which I adore), only she was much more consistently determined. She had a solid head on her shoulders and isn’t afraid to do what it takes to stay safe. Even if that means picking up a BABY! She really doesn’t limit herself because of her past and her morals, even in the most difficult situations, really stand out in this morally corrupt universe. For instance, when she is playing for Roland as he walks the red carpet to the ChopShop, she didn’t gloat. She could have made a scene and mocked him as he went in but instead she played somberly and kept her head down. She was also skilled as a medic, and a good one too. She made sure that she educated herself and made herself useful.

Connor was a good combattant for Risa. He didn’t just act out because he could. He acted out because it was the right thing to do. He didn’t kill Lev, even though he could have. The almost rape scene in the bathroom with Roland was intense, but it also showed off Connor’s thought process. He knew that Roland was buff and armed. He wouldn’t have saved Risa if he went after him in the way that he wanted to. His morals were saying to save Risa, but his logic told him to save her by attacking Roland psychologically instead of physically. I applaud Connor for part of his character. I am interested in the dynamic now that Connor has Roland’s arm. The trauma of almost being raped is going to stick with Risa and now that Connor has Roland’s arm, the arm that made Risa feel helpless and oppressed, how is that going to affect their physical relationship. I know that this is mentioned in the end when Risa says that Roland would never have touched her like Connor does now with his arm.

Lev! Oh my goodness. Lev makes you think about everything under the sun. I didn’t know if I would be able to get through this book, purely for the fact that I really struggled with the fact that Lev thought God wanted him to be tithed. As a Christian, the God and Father I know would never want his children to do this for him. I felt great peace for the character when Pastor Dan and Lev found that their Father didn’t want this from them. Lev didn’t even know that was an option. This just makes me think of all those who convolute Christianity and the Bible and brainwash people into thinking that is what is true. They don’t even know that a eternally loving and forgiving Father is there just waiting to envelop His children into His arms. How this society makes a celebration and holds Tithes above all other Unwinds just makes me cringe. I loved Lev’s relationship with CyFi and I loved that CyFi got to testify in the end. It also made me think when he was struggling with his hand having an addiction to stealing shiny things. One of the many things I don’t think anyone in this society thinks about.

Intense Scenes

The scene in which Roland is unwound is one of the scariest and most heartbreaking things I have read in a while. The law requires them to stay awake during the entire process, as they work from their feet all the way to their brain and their eyes. The intensity of this moment was so bad that I had to put the book down for a second and just breath. Part of me didn’t think that this was going to be written about. It would remain a mystery what was actually going down inside of the Chop Shop. But no, Neal Shusterman decided to show the whole, agonising process. How can people think that this is ok?! How can they put minors, or anyone through this? The Doctors don’t even blink! They talk about their kids and their lives around kids who are being killed! The kids themselves can’t even be respected because society is so brainwashed into thinking that the unwinds “live on” so they don’t get final words or funerals. Not even last rights!! It is disgusting.

The whole Humphrey Dunfee plot line I really enjoyed. It was brought up just enough times that the audience remembers the story but not enough that it is annoying. I applauded the Admiral and his Ex-Wife for pulling all of these people together. They are all their own people but they are also part of someone else. I have seen videos of families knowing who their donor’s family is and going to thank them or even being a big part of each other’s lives.

In the end, this book was intense and gripping. With short chapters and great main characters the plot was driven quickly but was also intricately woven and thought provoking.

Overall

5 out of 5 stars

98% out of 100%

-Jaime

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scythe by Neal Shusterman-Spoiler Free Review

What’s Up, Everyone? How are you all doing post Readathon week? I know a lot of people can get into reading slumps or experience reading burn out after readathons, but I hope that none of you are expe

The Blazing Star: Less Than Blazing

Thanks to Netgalley and to Wise Ink Creative Publishing for giving me an ARC of this book. Hello Everyone! Finals are finally over! Yay! I am so excited that I am on Christmas break and can spend time

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child-Spoiler Free Review

Hello Everyone! “Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is

bottom of page