top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime Leigh

Counting by 7s and Mockingbird

Updated: Mar 14, 2020


Overview (Non-Spoilers) This is a flawless masterpiece to the tune of "Mockingbird" by Kathryn Erskine. Both of these look deeply into the life of people who are different than the rest of the world. In Counting by 7s this is the genius Willow and in Mockingbird it is Caitlin with Asperger’s. Starting before the death of her parents, the audience views Willow as she battles to understand her surroundings and fit in as a genius in middle school. ***Spoilers*** (for Counting by 7s and Mockingbird) Things I liked: I love our main character. She was a genius but she wasn't a character that would put the reader off. She wasn't pompous or full of herself and she simply wanted to fit in. As much as I was a little annoyed to see that the author had gone with the "family member death" scenario, as did Mockingbird, I didn't feel like the storyline were being repeated. I think it was because, in Counting by 7s, Willow experiences the death of her parents with the audience, rather than having the event already passed as in Mockingbird. I know that it may be annoying that I am comparing the two, but I read this due to a recommendation from Emma W. due to the similarity in genre. I really enjoyed Dell, the awkward therapist and his categorization of his patients. I appreciated the message in the end that no one could be placed into the categories that he had created, or any category in general, not even himself. Things that I didn't like: Not much actually. The story was a bit more depressing than I was expecting but it didn't have anything to do with the actual story itself. Overall: 5 out of 5 stars 98% out of 100% -Jaime


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scythe by Neal Shusterman-Spoiler Free Review

What’s Up, Everyone? How are you all doing post Readathon week? I know a lot of people can get into reading slumps or experience reading burn out after readathons, but I hope that none of you are expe

The Blazing Star: Less Than Blazing

Thanks to Netgalley and to Wise Ink Creative Publishing for giving me an ARC of this book. Hello Everyone! Finals are finally over! Yay! I am so excited that I am on Christmas break and can spend time

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child-Spoiler Free Review

Hello Everyone! “Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is

bottom of page